Beauty

Strengthening Your Nails After Acrylic

I’m that girl who pretty much always has her nails done, especially because of my work environment. There’s something super unprofessional about a woman in business with chipped or ugly nails. My solution has always just been acrylic due to the longevity of them, but we all know they damage your nails and make them as thin as paper with gnarly indents, that ultimately take months to heal when removed. 

I’ve recently decided to remove my acrylic nails and try something new, which is a huge deal for me. I have sworn by these nails since I was 13 years old in the nail salon like the little diva I am today. Now, I’m going nude and natural. Ok, not completely. Earthy tones are in right now and I’m loving every second of it. I’m going all in and giving my poor nails a breather. In doing so, I am making an attempt to strengthen them while rocking earthy tones.

Have you ever accidentally stumbled upon a product that you’re completely obsessed over? I bought Sally Hansen “Diamond Strength Nail Hardener” and “Miracle Gel” polish on a rush stop to CVS to pick up some things for the house. Desperate to coat my paper thin nails with something, I quickly sat at the kitchen table and got to painting. I was totally impressed to say the least. The best part of it all? Neither polishes needed an expensive light used in the salon or an hour trip and $20+ (minimum). Each bottle was under $10 which is far less than a bi-weekly mani trip.

I let the paint dry and looked down at my pathetic fragile, post acrylic nails and immediately felt like they’re strong enough to withstand any task I throw at them. I’m borderline abusive to my hands.

The gel polish only takes two coats and comes in over 29 shades. My choice was called mauve-olous (how cute?!). As I mentioned, I have been feeling the earthy tones and they really help hide the fact my nails are super damaged and fragile. I finished my mani with a great top coat called Ciaté that I got in my Ipsy Glam Bag, which I’m completely obsessed with. This top coat is known to give a longwearing finish for up to 10 days of high gloss shine.

 

In addition to these polishes I’ve recently discovered, there are a few other tips to strengthen your nails after using acrylic:

Don’t pick or rip off your nails (acrylic or gel): Trust me from experience, this is only going to make it worse. Soak them off or get them professionally removed. You’re only going to increase the time you have damage, fragile and indented nails. Not cute!

Drink lots (and lots) of water: One health and beauty secret we can all benefit from is drinking lots of water. By doing this throughout the day, you will keep your cuticles and nails hydrated, but will also benefit your skin and hair.

Avoid alcohol-based hand sanitizer: It can dry out your nails and hands. Just wash your hands normally with soap and warm water and moisturize often.

Stop using your nails as a tool: Your nails aren’t meant to open things that scissors or a knife should open. Don’t be lazy!

 

Leave a Reply

