Lifestyle

Timehop: Every Flower Has To Be Planted In The Dirt To Get To The Sunshine

It’s funny how Facebook reminds you of where your life stood a year ago with its “Timehop” feature. To be honest, I used to dread logging in and seeing what happened in my life a year ago, but this morning as I logged in to the social media platform I was greeted with a message from myself.

My message was to all of my followers, friends and family who I felt needed an update on my life. My life had literally just gone through a tropical storm that was nearly catastrophic. Truly, I wasn’t sure how I was going to go on another day and get out of bed.

I sit here now a year later reading my words and think to myself how thankful I am.

I thought I knew what life was made of, even if every day was painful and unbearable. People told me that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side and to be careful with my decisions. When I see people, I mean almost everyone I know.

I had this gut feeling that they were wrong though. They weren’t living my day-to-day life. They had no idea what I was living in, but to be fair I painted a picture that was far from the truth. I guess that’s the PR person in me.

The reality is the grass is greener on the other side for some people. It’s bright green with beautiful flowers growing out of it. Every flower has to be planted in the dirt to get to the sunshine. They get rained on and sometimes stepped on, but they recover and they grow back even more beautiful than before. There I was one year ago hopeless, then I looked up right in front of me and found the field of flowers that were missing and felt far away for so long.

This holiday season, if I can share one piece of advice, just know that no matter what you go through in life, it is so small compared to the big picture.

Time heals all. It may leave scars, sometimes really big scars, but those scars are there to show you that you made it through a battle. Sometimes those battles lead to a victory. My victory just so happens to be this entire year, which has been by far the most amazing and empowering year of my life.

I’m thankful for my life. My family. My rock of a man who stands by me no matter what. Our son, who is growing faster and more beautiful than any flower I’ve ever seen.

Life is a gift and I thank you all for allowing me to share the good, the bad and the ugly.

 

Leave a Reply

