Lifestyle

Healthy Options To Kick-Start Your Metabolism

Happy Tuesday! I’ve fallen off the radar recently due to the birth of our beautiful baby boy. I’m proud to say he came into the world healthy on 06/15/16.

It’s safe to say since being pregnant, I have become an avid eater…and not the healthy type. Before I get into that though I want to take a second to talk about how amazing my experience with childbirth was. It’s probably one of the most intimidating things a woman can experience because it’s truly the fear of the unknown. You hear so many stories about how women are in labor for days, their body changes and never goes back to “normal” and pretty much that your life is over. The thing is, every woman’s experience with pregnancy and motherhood is different.

I’ll be sharing more next week about “The Sh*t They Don’t Tell You About Becoming A Mom,” but for now I’m proud to share my experience overall was and has been smooth sailing.

As I make my way to six weeks postpartum, I’m getting back into the swing of healthy meals and an exercise routine AKA not indulging in cinnamon poptarts and doing occasional squats like I did while pregnant.

This week, I want to touch on three breakfast options that I’ve been experimenting with and sticking to for the last few weeks and also provide a few tips and tricks to kick-start your metabolism. Each will give your morning a boost since breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

East Coast Girl Green Machine

My “go to” is a version of what some would call the green machine, a nutrient packed smoothie full of kale and spinach. I make this shake for breakfast or lunsmoothiech and have found it to be healthy, filling AND tasty.

  • 1 handful of fresh OR frozen spinach
  • 1 handful of fresh OR froze kale
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds
  • 1 Banana
  • 1 cup of Almond Milk
  • 1 cup of ice

** Pour all contents into blender and blend, but add the ice last **

Fruit Salaberriesd & Protein Bar
This is a great recipe from Pinterest via Fork Knife Swoon made up of berries and watermelon. Tip: I buy Nature Valley Sweet & Salty Nut granola bars to eat along with a fruit salad because it helps me stay full longer.

  • 1/2 pint Blackberries
  • 1 pint Blueberries
  • 1 pint Cherries, pitted and halved
  • 1 pint Raspberries
  • 1 pint Strawberries
  • 4 cups Watermelon

Greek Yogurt & Fruit

Photo credit: Rays of the Sun

Either mix them together or eat them separately on the go. Either way, this is an inexpensive and timely way to stay on top of eating healthy with a busy lifestyle. Tip: I buy Chobani when I’m on the go, which is not genetically modified (non-GMO) and is made with natural ingredients and natural sweeteners.

3 Tips & Tricks to Kick-Start Your Metabolism

  1. Never skip breakfast. A study from Harvard University School of Public Health found that skipping breakfast even just once per week could increase your risk for type 2 diabetes by 20 percent.
  2. Increase your water intake, especially when you first wake up. Try drinking an entire glass of water before your morning cup of coffee or OJ.
  3. Rise and grind. Wake an hour earlier and choose to work out in the morning versus the evening.
Leave a Reply

