Lifestyle

If I Ever Let My Head Down Again It Will Be To Admire My Shoes

…which by the way are flats right now. As many of you know, I’m pregnant. I’m getting to the point now where I’m pregnant enough that people no longer wonder if I just had too many burgers or if I’m carrying a human being inside of me.

While I can still manage to see my feet, I figured it would be a good idea to bring light to a quote I read that resonated with me.

After reading this, I thought of all of the times that I let my head hang down and all of the times I’ve masked my pain as a result of fear and shame.

We often try to live our lives painting a picture that’s really just for everyone else’s wants and pleasures. We don’t like to talk about how hard it can be to find the right colors or the perfect brushes to make the picture happen. Or how our hands aren’t always steady when we’re trying to create a masterpiece that we think everyone will love. Sometimes we get it right on the first try, while other times we make mistakes and have to start over.

I’ve come to a point in my life where I realize those mistakes aren’t made to be thrown away. Those mistakes add to the collection of your life gallery and sometimes we choose to display those publicly and other times we store them away in a private space. Either way it’s important to acknowledge them and not throw them away.

I hung my head down for so long looking at a picture that was destroyed. I spent too much time searching to find the perfect colors, the perfect brushes and the perfect easel all for the people that I loved the most.

I couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t finish the painting. It was paralyzing and I knew it wasn’t what I wanted. It was what I thought everyone around me wanted, but the reality was they wanted to see me happy and complete.

It turned out that all of the time I spent looking down was for a reason. It taught me that life is one big museum. A museum that is made up of photos the artist creates, not the public. I learned that I needed to put the painting that I couldn’t finish away and start over.

My head is held high as I’m working on a new collection in my life gallery. I stopped looking for what everyone else wanted and found the toolbox with the most perfect colors, brushes and inspirations.

I’ve already finished one piece of art in this new collection and it is one that I’ll never take off of display and hide. I’m half way through my first pregnancy with a man who inspires and enlightens me daily and can’t wait to see where our life gallery will grow.

Stay tuned for the next beautiful painting that we’ll be adding to our life collection.

 

 

Leave a Reply

