Lifestyle

5 Random Acts of Kindness

This week I struggled to choose a topic to write about because I had so many ideas flowing in my head from the craziness in my life. A thought came to me tonight though and without thinking twice, I realized I had to get it off my chest.

Listening is something that not everybody knows how to do well, including myself. It seems as though we often get caught up in our own successes and failures and we neglect to listen to what others have to say.

photo credit: impfashion

What would happen if you put your selfish needs aside for a day and listened to someone else? What if you dedicated an hour from each day to ask someone how he or she is doing? Would it kill you?

There are people out there who have no one. They have a life full of artificial friends and family who they consider “family”, but there is no one there to listen.

I’d like to challenge anyone reading this post to perform five random acts of kindness that most of us have forgotten how to do. If you can do just one of these, you’re making a difference in someone’s life:

  1. Stop talking about yourself
  2. Listen to someone who needs to talk
  3. Stop talking bad about others and look at the positive
  4. Tell someone who you care about that you love them
  5. Give someone a genuine hug who needs it
Leave a Reply

