Uncategorized

Dear Apartment 302

To the Laughing Lady who lives above me,

I am writing this post knowing the likelihood of you reading it is slim to none, but I have to express my feelings. Every night I come home from my busy life and head straight for my bed because I’m absolutely exhausted. All I want to do is go to sleep and not think about anything so I can wake up refreshed and recharged, but you keep me awake.

For the first time ever, I want to thank you for keeping me up when I’m trying to fall asleep. Lately, I’ve been awake thinking about “the end of college stressors” and it’s getting on my nerves. I can’t think about anything else besides what position I’m going to apply to next and how I am going to manage my busy work week that is ahead of me.

You changed that recently. I have no idea what or who you’re laughing at, but it calms me. Almost every night I hear you laughing and it reminds me of good memories that I’ve had in my life. It reminds me to laugh once in a while and forget about stressors that will work themselves out. So thank you. Thank you for slowing my racing heart at night and giving me something happy to hear before I fall asleep.

Yours Truly,
The Insomniac in 202

4 thoughts on “Dear Apartment 302

  1. Good for you Nikki…if you live a life filled with optomism, humor, generosity, understanding, faith and general positivity you will keep fear, saddness, anger and all the bad stuff out of your life that will hold you back…let your light so shine that it lights the world around you.

  2. Happiness is contagious, I think. I always feel so much better when I’ve been hanging around with people who are happy. Nice post!

  3. I agree, happiness is contagious for sure. I believe when you surround yourself with positive people, they rub off on you. Even when I’m having a bad day, I try to remember to think about the people surrounding me and the impact my mood has on them. =) Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

