Uncategorized

Stop Being Negative and Focus on the Positive

Before I talk about being negative, I want to say something positive. Today is Father’s Day. Whether or not you have a father, a mother who was a mom and dad to you, an aunt or uncle who was there or anyone that may have been there for you be sure to thank them. My dad has been there for me since day one and I couldn’t be more thankful. I am so happy to have him in my life every day. It is so important to say I love you to those you love EVERY day and thank them for all of the sacrifices they make. Thanks dad, I love you and I will genuinely always be a daddy’s girl.

This week I wrapped up my time in New York City and flew back to Tampa. As I was flying back all I could think about was the beauty around me. Many people who get on planes either freak out because they’re afraid of heights or they just go to sleep. Usually, I’m doing both, but this time was different. I have been thinking a lot about life and what we’re here on earth to do. What did I come up with? I have NO CLUE. What I do know is that I’m here to be the best that I can and appreciate everyone around me and start being more positive.

For the past few months, there has been a lot of negativity hovering over success and happiness. A lot of people (rightfully so) have a difficult time being positive during difficult times and that’s what inspired today’s post.

Why are we so negative sometimes? Why don’t we look at life and move forward? We are human and can express our emotions, but there comes a point where we need to stop worrying about what’s bad and focus on the good around you. I myself can be such a complainer and I’m sick of it. I annoy myself sometimes. SO, this week, I am posting a list of 10 things to do to change your mood from bad to good.

  1. Take a hot shower or a warm bubble bath to relax your body. 
  2. Treat yourself to delivery and lounge in your PJ’s for a day. (ONE DAY ONLY) 
  3. Go for a walk or run in an area that makes you happy –garden, city, town or mall 
  4. Buy yourself a bundle of flowers and put them on your night stand. 
  5. Call your best friend or family member to vent, that’s what they’re there for. 
  6. Treat yourself to a full on spa day – get a manicure, pedicure, spray tan and hair cut 
  7. Write down your negative thoughts, concerns and fears/ put them in a box and bury them 
  8. Take a day trip somewhere near your home and explore an area you’ve never been. 
  9. Go through your closet and get rid of things that you don’t need and donate them.
    We all have things that we hold hoard because we think we’re going to use them. Sometimes clearing out clutter from your life will change your mood and make you feel relieved.
  10. VOLUNTEER (**guaranteed to work)
    This is something that is more therapeutic than you will ever know. Seeing the problems that other people have make yours seem so small. Volunteering in a soup kitchen, animal shelter, homeless shelter and many more options will help you see the bigger picture of life.
3 thoughts on “Stop Being Negative and Focus on the Positive

  1. These are great tips, Niiki! I totally agree especially that volunteering will do wonders on getting the focus off yourself and onto others :}. A book I’d like to recommend that has really helped me change my outlook on life is called, One-Liners For Life, by Susan Spira who also has written Happy Shorts and The Happy Tips Book. I’ve learned from Susan that people tend to overlook the obvious in life and need to be reminded of what’s important. That’s what your article has done here as well :}. You can find the author’s website here: http://susanspira.com/

Leave a Reply

