Uncategorized

Fashion That You Can Do Yourself: DIY Punk Couture

This week, I toured the Punk: Chaos to Couture exhibit in the Metropolitan Museum of Art and got inspired to write a DIY fashion favorite’s post. The temporary exhibit is open from May 9-August 14.

When I came to interview for my summer internship a few months ago, my dad and I passed this enormous museum on our way to dinner. We both immediately noticed the word FASHION showcased on a banner. I knew I had to see what this was all about, but I had no idea what was type of fashion I’d find. It ended up taking me an entire month to explore and figure out that I have found a fashion jackpot.

The punk exhibit is nothing like you’ll ever see. While I was walking around admiring the designs I couldn’t help but think about how often we neglect to create our own fashions. Each room is filled with “do it yourself” fashions, but they’re all punk inspired. Some of the DIY items that are been commonly used are studs, spikes, chains, zippers, bottle tops and safety pins. My personal favorite of them all is the safety pin look.

Here are some modern DIY fashion style’s that are edgy and fun to create.

SAFETY PIN SHIRT – photo credit: flickr
STUD SHORTS – photo credit: tumblr
BOTTLE CAP SKIRT- photo credit: shalasrabbithole.com
ZIPPER BRACELET: photo credit: tumblr
CHAIN SHIRT – photo credit: tumblr

 

Information from the press room:

“The Costume Institute of The Metropolitan Museum of Art, examines punk’s impact on high fashion from the movement’s birth in the 1970s through its continuing influence today. The exhibition is made possible by Moda Operandi.”

 If you want to learn more about the MET museum and the PUNK: Chaos to Couture exhibit, go to their website that’s linked above.

3 thoughts on “Fashion That You Can Do Yourself: DIY Punk Couture

      1. i WILL! when i do create them bad boys, i will be posting the Before & After of the shorts. & be giving you credit for sparking my ideas. Make sure you check it out!

Leave a Reply

