Uncategorized

Stepping out of your comfort zone

Each Sunday, I sit down to write my blog and I think of the different events that occurred throughout my week that I could write about. This week I had a lot going on, both with my internship and the weekend. Before I talk about this week’s highlight experience, I want to talk about the fear of living in a new place.

Tonight I ordered Chinese food at a restaurant across the street from my apartment and was catching up with my mom on the phone. We were talking for a while and started to discuss my fears and how it is living in a new area, especially a huge city. I’ve it said before and I’ll say it until I’m blue in the face, it’s OK to be nervous. What about fear though? No one can really prepare you for the adventure of moving to a new place and stepping out of your “comfort zone”.

Don’t get me wrong, I feel like I’m on top of the world and can conquer anything right now, but I’m not going to lie when I say my fearless mentality is down a little. I’m a week into my internship and recently I’ve created “fears” in my head…Am I doing a good job? Will I be able to make friends? Will I be able to find my way around if I want to go out?

All of these things are so small when you think about the big picture though. This experience isn’t about living in fear, but living in the moment and taking everything you can out of it.

My blog is called East Coast Girl Living in a PR World for a reason. I’ve lived in six different states in five years and each time I’ve moved, I’ve create “fears” that make me crazy. Fear is common and is OK, but at the end of the day it’s how you manage it and come up with positive resolutions.

This week, I stepped way out of my “comfort zone” for an experience that I will always remember. I was asked to model for a Great Gatsby Fashion Show held by Good Day New York. Not only was I nervous to be on a live television segment, but also to walk in a fashion show in contrast to planning one.  When I arrived at the Fox station, there was an outfit picked out for me. There was an adorable silver dress, beautiful jewelry and a blonde pixie wig. I saw the blonde wig and I’m pretty sure I lost all of the color in my face. I was already nervous, but now I was completely petrified. I swallowed my pride and decided that this is a huge part of fashion and the public relations industry, so why not go all out for the experience.

I learned a lot this week. Even though we as human beings experience fear, there is always greater good surrounding that fear. Everything happens for a reason whether it’s good or bad. In my opinion, coming up with resolutions and learning experiences for fears that chase you sometimes will only help you succeed and grow as an individual.

Here are some pictures from my week:

Great Gatsby Fashion Show

image_2
Exploring the city nightlife

photo

image
Gotham Comedy Club

image_1
Sunday brunch at McGarry’s Pub

image_3

One thought on “Stepping out of your comfort zone

  1. I do not even know how I stopped up here, however
    I thought this post was good. I do not recognise who you are however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

