Uncategorized

5 Rules Leading to College Success

This semester has been one of the most difficult semesters I’ve experience throughout my college career. Between the tedious group projects and the long nights studying, it’s safe to say I’m completely shot.

So now that I’ve got my complaining out of the way, (which by the way is OK do to when you’re in your senior year) it’s time to get to the reality of it all.

Going to college was not something I had anticipated of as a little girl. I lived my life day-to-day and let destiny take its course. Some people may say that they knew what they wanted to do or they knew where they wanted to go, but I can honestly say I had no clue. I was young and naïve.

As the semester comes to an end, I’m noticing the finish line is near and I’ve been reflecting on my experiences as a college student.

I’ve come up with five rules that can potentially lead to your success in college.

  1. Take responsibility for your actions
    – Whether you fail an exam or forget to turn in a paper, take responsibility and come up with a solution to do better next time. DON’T BEAT YOURSELF UP!
  2. Don’t run away from your problems
    – When you are faced with a school related problem or even a friendship miscommunication, squash it immediately. Address it and move on.
  3. Listen to your parents
    – OK, so we all HATE when our parents are right, but let’s face it, they’re more experienced and are always right when it comes to school!
  4. Get involved in extracurricular activities
    – Internships, student organizations and jobs are all hard to balance on top of classes, but when you get to the end and start putting together your resume, you will absolutely stand out more.
  5. Take leadership positions
    – Not only is this awesome for your resume, but being a leader also teaches you lifelong lessons and provides you with countless resources that you will use in your future careers.
Leave a Reply

