Uncategorized

PRSSA National Assembly: Day 1 Journey to New Mexico

Today I leave for Albuquerque, New Mexico for PRSSA’s National Assembly.  I am excited to meet other professionals in the public relations field and gain knowledge and leadership skills. To me, there is nothing better than bouncing ideas off of each other and picking brains. Some may say that it’s not smart because in the business world, people can “steal your ideas”. I find it funny when people say that, especially with PR practitioners. It’s all about making connections, networking and bettering each other.

I look forward to seeing a side of the country I’ve seen before, but most of all I am thankful that I’ve been provided this opportunity to grow in my profession. I will be blogging my day-to-day activities and experiences for the next three days and I hope that my followers will see the many benefits that being a part of PRSSA and/or leadership has to offer.

On a sassy girl note, I have been sitting in the airport all day thanks to this Florida storm. I got here and my flight was delayed making me unable to make my transfer flight out of Houston. Thankfully, the United Airlines agent was kind enough to do five minutes of research to get me to my destination as quickly as possible, eventually having to move me to American Airlines. My rant has a purpose…I am now missing the welcome ceremony tonight. On a positive note, I won’t let this airport drama get in the way of a great opportunity. Nothing ever goes as planned and everything happens for a reason, even if it’s a pain in the butt. When I arrive, I will hopefully be caught up by the three girls I’m staying with.

Check back for an update tomorrow! – USF PRSSA PRESIDENT

Leave a Reply

