Uncategorized

Twitter Chat Surprise: Helpful Professionals

Today I had a casual “Twitter Chat” with PR maven Gerard F. Corbett (@PRJobCoach). As a social media addict, I posted that I was working on revamping my resume and website. I wasn’t expecting anyone to acknowledge me on Twitter; I thought I’d just share my thoughts, and then my phone notified me that PRJobCoach sent me a tweet.

Image

I was so excited that someone who knows so much actually wanted to help! As a student who is just getting into PR classes, yet graduating next December, I was petrified.

Mr. Corbett writes a helpful blog that I think all PR students and professionals should utilize as a resource. His blog is http://prjobcoach.blogspot.com/

The article that I read was his most recent “Getting an Edge; Why Your Elevator Speech is Crucial to Job Search”.  I have come up with an elevator speech in a few of my classes and each time it has changed. Today I fine tuned it even more thanks to his article. Mr. Corbett was extremely helpful and offered to review and give me advice on my speech!

My point of this blog is don’t ever hesitate to reach out to those in your field who are on social media. Like me, I am sure many of you are nervous to say the wrong thing or even to say anything at all, but be proactive; you never know who is willing to help!

3 thoughts on “Twitter Chat Surprise: Helpful Professionals

  1. Thank you for any other great article. The place else may just anybody get that type of info in
    such an ideal method of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such info.

Leave a Reply

