Uncategorized

Count your blessings

08/10/2012

As I sit here and think about all of the people who I’ve crossed paths with, I remember those who stand out the most. It’s crazy to imagine life without certain friends and family and I am so thankful for them all.

From a young age, all I ever wanted was to have as many friends as possible and to have my family surrounding me eternally, but it is funny how things work out and how people change. My friends and family are spread out all around the United States and even in Italy. How can so many people remain in contact with each other, yet remain loyal to their day to day lives?

So many people say count your blessings and I always thought of that to be somewhat cliché, that is, until I recently visited friends and family in Delaware and Maryland. I saw family who I haven’t seen in months and I saw friends I haven’t seen in years. Some were delighted to see me, while others seemed to have easily forgotten the relationship we once had, which was hard, but I could understand.

My family is such a huge piece of who I am today and seeing them meant more than words could even describe. Each and every family member was ecstatic to spend just a few minutes with me and reminisce on the good times we have shared throughout the years. Although months passed by of not seeing each other, my family remains loyal and loving.

Counting my blessings is something I will always hold close to my heart. Although, I am not an extremely religious person, I find that those who love you the most can pick up where you left off, no matter how much time may pass. It doesn’t take daily contact or even weekly contact, but just a simple gesture every so often to let a loved one know you’re thinking about them and truthfully, I am one lucky girl to have such an amazing group of people in my life.

Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has plenty; not on your past misfortunes of which all men have some.
Charles Dickens

Leave a Reply

